Skip to content

Drop Bar Adventure, Part II

October 17, 2011

My quest to put drop bars on my mountain bike has hit another snag. It appears the front mech won’t shift up to the big ring. So, it looks like I might have to get a new front mech as well as a new rear mech. The rear mech is already installed. I told the friend who is doing this for me that it didn’t matter what he used, all that mattered was whether or not it worked. I assumed he would go with Shimano to match the shifters, but apparently he went an even cheaper route — Micro Shift (model as yet unknown as my friend wasn’t there when I went to see).

The good news is that one fear has been alleviated: I was worried that even though I knew this was something I wanted to do, that drop bars on a mountain bike would just look strange. Well, the bar tape has not been put on yet, but from what I saw tonight when I went to check things out, the handlebars looked good. The bike looked just fine with drop bars. Sorry, but I forgot take pictures. When everything is finished, though, I will definitely take some pictures.

No comments yet

Leave a comment